The Aldgate Ward Club is governed by the Committee, consisting of the President, Senior and Junior Vice Presidents, Treasurer, Secretary and elected members all of which are elected by the members at the Annual General Meeting. 

Past Presidents also remain on the committee for 5 years and our Patron, the Ward’s Alderman, is also invited to attend, together with the Deputy and other Common Councilmen. 


  • Hamish McArthur President
  • Shai Umradia Senior Vice President
  • David Sales – Junior Vice President
  • Nick Smith – Honorary Treasurer
  • Tim McNally Honorary Secretary
  • Vanessa Dal Busco – Honorary Membership Secretary
  • Derek Prentis PP MBE Officer Emeritus


  • John Bath Hon Social Secretary
  • Dmytro Tupchiienko  Social Media Officer
  • Jennifer Schwalbenberg
  • Martin Ashton
  • vacant Honorary Chaplain

Past Presidents

Geliya Chukmarova 2020-2021

Andrew Marsden 2019-2020

Chris Edge 2018-2019

David Double 2018 to June

Dr Trevor Brignall 2017

Corinna Edge 2016

A full list of Past Presidents of the Club (from 1907) can be found here.

Aldgate Ward Club Rules

The Club Rules can be found here.